Nakation Event – Manchester Naked Bike Ride (June 2012)

On Friday 1st June, I did the Manchester Naked Bike Ride.

Arriving at All Saints Park, Oxford Road just around 6.30pm there was a growing number of people arriving (including some people offering body painting).

Naked Bike Rides have taken place in 50+ cities around the world with around 3000 people taking part in UK rides each year.  The purpose is ‘a peaceful, imaginative and fun protest against oil dependency and car culture.  A celebration of the bicycle and also a celebration of the power and individuality of the human body. A symbol of the vulnerability of the cyclist in traffic’.  Click here for more details.

This was the first time I had been really nervous about taking my clothes off in public – guess the fact I was in my hometown and the number of ‘spectators’ stood around watching was also quite unnerving.  I actually contemplated not doing it but the thought of missing out was too great, so I took the plunge.  I was mainly conscious about being photographed without my disguise so figured the best way was to leave the park to put on my bear mask before coming back into the park and starting to remove my clothes.

In total, there was around 100 – 150 people participating.  I’d say that the majority were naked and there was an interesting mix of people – usual amount of older men (50+) plus a good number of younger females (20-30’s) – maybe the feature of the London Naked Bike Ride in the Channel 4 documentary ‘My Daughter The Teenage Nudist’ helped to promote these rides to a younger audience?

Once naked, we were given instructions by the organisers, gave a cheer for all participating and off we went.

The route for the ride went up Oxford Road, into St Ann’s Square, along Fountain Street and down to the Printworks.  From here were turned down past Victoria Station, along Deansgate, then back up Oxford Road towards Portland Street.  Here we headed towards Piccadilly Gardens, down through Canal Street, then back to All Saints Park.

Here’s some videos of the event –

I have to say, the reaction from the good people of Manchester was fantastic – really positive and encouraging.  However, there was one incidence that was particularly unsavoury.  As we headed along Fountain Street, at the top of Market Street, there was a group of young lads who were trying to grab the female riders as cycled through.  Maybe next year, the Police can provide some officers to stand here to ensure that this does not happen again?

If anybody wants any of the photos removing send me an email at nakation@yahoo.co.uk and I’ll remove them.

Posted on June 4, 2012, in Clothing Optional, H&E Naturist Magazine, Manchester, Manchester Naked Bike Ride, My Daughter The Teenage Nudist, Nakation, Nakation Events, Nakation News, Naked Bike Ride, Naturist, Nudist, World Naked Bike Ride. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

