Nakation on TV

Hi everyone

Did anyone see the programme on TV last night – Cherry Healey Body Dilemmas?

The BBC3 documentary, explored why we are so neurotic about body image.

Cherry reports that “when we decided to make a programme about body image, I was excited. It’s something I’ve really struggled with so I felt that I would, perhaps, be able to understand the stories I was going to hear but that I would, definitely, learn a huge amount”.

Towards the end of the programme, Cherry went to met two naturists.

On this topic she says that “at the beginning of this process, I suppose, I secretly felt that body liberation couldn’t truly exist in a culture with such intensive exposure to images of airbrushed women. But much to my surprise Sandra, a naturist from Gloucester, proved me wrong. Ok, ok, so I know that being a naturist isn’t exactly a standard hobby but once I’d acclimatised to seeing people in their birthday suits, I realised that Sandra had a nugget of gold to share. She had taken personal responsibility for her body worries and had decided to change the way she felt about her body. It wasn’t a lightening, overnight moment but it was a gradual, conscious decision to feel happier with her body. She chose to see her body in a new light: as an amazing vehicle that had produced six children and was hers and hers alone. She had stopped comparing herself to other women and, in doing so, she had found a happier, more peaceful relationship with her body. I want me some of that”.

The final shots of the programme was where Cherry decided to try skinny dipping.  It’s a shame that she could not pluck up the courage to join the others but at least she gave it a go!

See video below

Coverage of the programme also made the local press.

If any of you watched it, I’d love to hear your thoughts!

Posted on August 24, 2011, in Nakation, Skinny Dipping, TV. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

